
12 miles... so here it goes....
I tossed and turned through out the night in anticipation for the 12 mile run and quite nervous about the email I had received earlier this week regarding pooing your pants. I set my alarm for 5:15am to give myself enough time to wake up, eat, stretch and poo.LOL As my alarm went off I stiffly got out of bed fighting my eyelids to stay open. I hobbled down the stairs as usual and poured myself a big bowl of frosted mini wheats with almond milk. I have tons of time I thought to myself feeling slightly proud of myself for actually getting up earlier than usual.
After I ate my delicious cereal I went back upstairs to put my running gear on. I was so excited to wear my new running belt!(side story... I got my belt at Target the night before. Its was the last one there. I spoke outwardly how I didn't want to spend $20 dollars on a belt I couldn't try on, since it was in the package. A man that worked there over heard me, opened it up and let me run around the store with it. After I approved he sold it to me 10% off since it was opened! Whoo hoo for me!)
Around 6am Davy woke up so he could volunteer at the run.What a sweet man! I love you baby. I had already made him his morning coffee. We had to leave around 6:30 to pick up our friend Leddie who was going to volunteer with him.Your awesome too Leddie! At 6:15am I realized I still haven't gone to the bathroom! OH NO! I don't drink coffee but i made myself drink just a bit to my motor running if you know what I mean ;) No worries. I made it happen. LOL
We arrived at the site in gorgeous Griffith Park at 6:55am. Davy and Leddie checked in and got their site maps to set up their water station for us while we did our warm up and weekly cheer. At 7:10am I am the only person from my pace group there!
Here comes another freak out! I was so scared I was going to have to run my pace on my own. I don't even have a watch! Just as we are about to run my group shows up! Thank god!
We ended up starting late but at least we started:)
I felt great throughout the entire run. I even made friends with a cat along the way. However it wasn't that way for every one 3 people didn't make the 12 miles due to knee pain and other injuries one of them being my team mate. She really gave it a good shot before they made her stop and get in the car. We gave her a head start as we stopped for a bathroom break so that we could catch up to her as she walked. She made it this way for about 8 or 9 miles. Poor girl she really gave it her all.
We ended our run going up hill at mile 11. This is going to be more frequent in our training since in the Marathon we will be running up Diamond Head in Hawaii. (look it up if you don't know what it is) We will be going up Diamond Head at mile 7 and mile 22. Do you think Ive lost my marbles yet? :)We all celebrated with ice packs at the end of this one:)
So how do I feel now? Well I wake up every morning limping from the sheer stiffness of my body. My knees are tight and sore and my left heel stabs me with sharp pains if I walk on it just wrong and I can no longer hop into any yoga poses due to my right foot feeling like its going to break when I land on it. Other than that?... I am having the best time of my life!! :)
I really am. I love my life and I love running!
Next run is a 7 mile recovery run in costumes! Yes costumes! and you get to pick which one! Biggest donation this week gets to choose:)
The week after... 14 miles and my fund raising party!!
No comments:
Post a Comment