Monday, August 2, 2010

10 miles!



10 miles! I did it! but..... WOW!

I'd be lying if I said I wasn't intimidated when I woke up Sunday morning. 10 miles is journey I have never traveled on these 2 feet. But I pushed through my fear.

When I arrived at the sight in Griffith park 10 minutes to 7am we did our usual routine... got our maps, met with our groups, put sunblock on and did our cheer. (you'll see it in the video) :)

We started out at a slower pace this morning as we warmed up and conserved energy. I have such a great group of people to run with! we saw some really cool houses along the way. Even took some pictures being silly. We stopped for 2 bathroom breaks along the way. I think those delicious electrolyte jelly beans I was eating along the way made me have to pee a lot. LOL. When we stopped at Burger King for the bathroom one of the girls thought it would be a good idea to eat salt packets to get the sodium back up in our bodies. (a little trick of the trade) I did it! SOOOOOOO Gross!! I'll stick with my jelly beans:)

My head played lots of tricks on me going through the run. examples: its kept saying... its too hot, your too tired, are you sure you should be doing this? my toes hurt ect... sometimes it had me convinced but I shook it out and kept going.

Conversations in the group help keep my mind off the voice in my head. :)

I found a lucky penny and gave it to my group leader. "Find a penny pick it up and all the day I'll have good luck. But if I give it to a friend then our luck will never end" Then a training buddy in my group, Samantha, said that when you find a penny it means your on the right track in life. I love that!! I knew I at that moment to not doubt myself. I was on the right track. Funny thing is... Sage, our group leader, found a penny later and gave it to me. We are all on the right track!! :)

We finished 10 miles at 2hrs and 38 min (with 2 bathroom breaks) so we ran it exactly at 14 minutes per mile! WHOOO HOOO! The best part... as we crossed the 10 mile marker one of the girls had the Rocky Theme song playing on her I-phone!! We all felt pretty bad ass! :)

I went home right after. I was so hungry and very tired. I had to work at 2:30 and I desperetly wanted to take a nap. Davy and I went out to breakfast to celebrate. When we got home it was 12:20pm. I realized I may not get to sleep, I had so much to do! I walked in the door, leaned against the wall and started to cry. I mean really cry! Sobs and all! Davy got me some water and put me to bed promising he would wake me up in 40 minutes so I can get ready for work. When 1pm hit Davy came into the room and gently woke me up by taking my socks off and rubbing my feet.

I have the best boyfriend in the whole wide world. Thank you so much sweetie for supporting me and taking care of me. I love you so much!!

1:30pm I left for work.

8pm went to a party for our store manager.

What a day!!

No comments:

Post a Comment