Saturday, July 31, 2010

OMG I am running 10 miles tomorrow morning!! Let me tell ya... I'm a little intimidated! I'll let you know how it goes tomorrow:)

Until then I wanted to share a list of things that I have learned so far on this journey...

1. drinking chocolate milk or soy within the first 15-20 after a run help the muscles recover faster
2. to be careful not to over-hydrate because it can make you loopy and go to the hospital
3. to make sure not to dehydrate so that you don't die
4. My legs chafe after 4 miles in shorts. I must wear muscle compressing crops on long runs.
5. to align my breath with the rhythm of my steps. (counting helps).
6. The IT band is the band that connects the hips to the knees and when running it gets so tight my knees start to hurt after about 6 miles
7. the proper way to run is on the balls of the feet.
8. when running up hill lean slightly forward.
9. when running down hill run more flat foot
10. be sure not to eat lots of bad food the day before a long run. It make you fart.
11. gel packs of electrolytes are needed around 8 miles or more to keep energy up
12. it helps to run with people to take your mind off.. well, your mind/body

I know there's much more but I have to go to bed. I will continue to post my learning another time. Wish me luck on those 10 miles in the morning!!:)Goodnight!

Friday, July 30, 2010

5:45am and ready to run!


Rise and shine!! its 5:45am!! I woke 15 minutes before my alarm went off knowing I had to run before I started my day today. I felt great tho! I got just enough sleep and I felt refreshed as I looked out my window to see the sun still rising.

I got myself ready and took the i-pod.Its 6am now as I hop in my car to drive to my favorite near by park to run its dirt filled track. As I pulled up to the park and parked my car I was shocked at how many people were there doing the same thing! There is quite the community of runners here! :)I got out of my car excited for my morning run. I have to say I even felt a little proud of myself. I started to warm up with a fast pace walk.I couldn't believe how cold it was this morning. This is southern California right?LOL.

so anyway, I pretty much felt out my average pace of 3-1. I still don't have a watch to keep the time so I just found a nice rhythm and walked when my body told me to.

It was a beautiful morning and a beautiful/peaceful 2.6 miles. It was definetly a fantastic way to start the day. I should get up this early more often!

When I got home I drank a glass of delicious chocolate soy milk to help my muscles recover, took a shower, got ready for my day and headed off to yoga with my wonderful Lulu family, after that... off to work with my wonderful Lulu family. What a day! Its 7pm and I am winding down. I think that's it for me today.

Goodnight:)

Wednesday, July 28, 2010

Short and sweet just like my run:)

Yesterday I woke up with plans to go to pilates with my friend/co-worker Gabby and to work on my fundraising, then I realizd I have to do a maintainence run today. I cant afford to miss any at this point. I will be running 10 miles this Sunday with my group. 8 miles kicked my ass this week and I did my runs last week. it just goes to show how much I will have to maintain my weekly runs to build my endurence. So, today I put on my new running gear from, of course Lululemon, I grabbed got my i-pod and headed out the door. I am currently listening to The Goal, its a book I got from the Core Library at my work.

I didnt have a watch or pedometer so I fingured I would just wing it. I ran for about 2 miles in about 25 minutes around my neiborhood. I love my neiborhood and all it's cute little houses and trees:) It makes me happy and so does running:)

Sunday, July 25, 2010

8 Freakin Miles!!


Wow... What can I say?! I did it! I RAN 8 MILES!!

Today I started off awake and refreshed at 6am. To tell you the truth I didn't think about the 8 miles in detail so I wasn't freaked or anything. I was excited to see my training group and get going!

7am we are all there ready to go. The coach talked to us briefly about the importance of hydration. Apparently too much or too little can be dangerous. No worries, me and my team were fine the whole way. Today's trail started in Griffith Park and eventually led us through Glendale and back. As we charged up a gorgeous street filled with trees that shaded our path and houses that looked like they each popped out of a fairy tale book the incline took its toll. 1.3 miles of incline today is the start of our training for running Diamond head in Hawaii. OMG we're going to run up Diamond Head! Half way up the hill it hit me... I will be running 26.2 miles! Can I really do this???? The fear and doubt got loud. KEEP GOING. STOP THINKING. So, I continued in conversation with my group and that loud annoying voice in my head quieted down. Thank goodness. At mile 5 someone's sprinklers were spraying their beautiful green grass so we all took advantage of it and ran through them. aaaahhhhh.... The coolness of the water and fresh air feel so nice! We finished 8 miles today in 1 hour and 48 minutes! That was with 2 bathroom breaks too! So, we are doing very well and keeping a steady pace. (yes we are still run/walking at at 3-1 pace that averages between 13 and 14 minutes per mile)When we finished, the training group had peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, cookies, pretzels and fruit ready for us. And boy was I hungry!!! We had our snack, took some pictures and then my group asked me if I would lead them into a stretch as I did last week. I felt so honored:) of course I will! So I lead them into some yoga stretches that felt OH SO GOOD after 8 miles:)Thank you to my yoga mentors, Kamila and Elinore. If it weren't for my yoga practice over the last 3 years this journey would be a lot more difficult and how would I ever lead my team into an awesome stretch?! Namaste.

Now its 9:30am and I have to get home, have a real breakfast, shower, get ready for work and say goodbye to Davy (he's going to Russia for a gig for 3 days). All this and get to work by noon!

By the time I got to work I felt like passing out. SOOOOOOO tired. For the rest of the day I pretty much felt like a babbling mess. But its all good. I made it and I feel great about my accomplishment today. This Sunday... 10 miles!

Saturday, July 24, 2010

running=energy




Thur July 22nd Reena came over at 5:50am ready to go for 1 of our runs. I had previously tracked mileage from my house to the park I like to run at. It is exactly 1 mile away from my door step to the park. So at 6pm sharp we headed out of my house onto the warm pavement. It was a beautiful day with a cool breeze. The day was winding down and we were just getting started. We paced ourselves at our regular 3-1 pace conversing and bonding along the way. Once we arrived at the park we took the long trail around the park which is 1.2 miles. Definitely breaking a sweat but loving every minute and going strong. My shins and feet are start to ache but I'm OK we keep going. We did 2 laps before heading home. We finished feeling great as Davy took our video and photo as we came around the corner! Whoo hoo! We finished our 4.6 mile maintenance run in 1 hour flat!!

Fri July 23rd
I started my morning working at Lulu.I worked 11-5pm. Always a blast.. especially when 27 boxes arrive at the store. LOL:) Davy and I had plans to leave at 7pm to go see a friend of his play a show downtown. However I knew I had to get 1 more maintenance run in before Sat. Saturdays are my day of rest. NO EXERCISE. I have to rest for my Sunday long runs with my group. So I left work at 5 to arrive home at 5:30pm. Davy said he would join me so we threw on our running clothes, hat and shoes and headed out on my new trail to do a quick 4 mile run. YUP THAT'S RIGHT I SAID QUICK 4 MILES! CAN YOU BELIEVE IT??? LOL:) This former non runner can actually say and do a quick 4 miles! I love it!! We ran/walked my pace of 3-1. Amazing! We finished in 45 minutes with plenty of time to shower and get ready for date!! As I was showering I could feel the energy serge through my body and let the water wash away the day.Running has definitely given me more energy. My body feels strong and lean and my mind is becoming clear. Thank you baby for a great run and all your support. I love you!

Tomorrow Sunday July 25th I will be running 8 miles with my training group!! Must get lots of rest tonight. I have to wake up at 6am and be ready to run at 7am sharp. Then 12pm off to work.

I let you know how it goes tomorrow.

Love and light,
Angela

Sunday, July 18, 2010

3 blogs in 1. Playing Catch up...




ok so I fell a bit behind on my blog so I will do 3 entries in this one each starting with the correct date:)

July 13, 2010
Fund raising Plan of Action

Today I had an amazing day. I worked at Lulu then headed off to my 1 on 1 fund raising coaching session held with coach Mathew at my favorite hot spot in Sherman Oaks, Crave Cafe.

I arrived several minutes early as usual and we started our session. He asked me to bring the number of friends/contacts I have in my phone, email and Facebook. The answer as to why I am doing this Marathon, any ideas I currently have to raise the money and what have I done thus far.

Here's a copy of my answers and my fund raising plan:


Why did you sign up for this marathon?

Talking with BF about wanting to travel (saw the Take One and started dreaming about accomplishing the goal of a marathon and completing the fundraising goal)

AIDS Marathon – performed for AIDS Walk in Vegas and done AIDS Walk in Vegas

What have you done so far to fundraise?

Blog – started from the point of registering (gmail – blogspot)

FB

Sent email from personal account

Text every person in phone

Made a few calls

At $275 currently

What ideas do you already have for the future?

Friend offered back yard to have a party (performances)

Poker – BF – charity poker event

Yard sale (all friends stuff)

Tell me about your job, friends, family, hobbies, background, schedule, and residence.

Born Michigan

From Vegas

In LA 1 year

Lulu Lemon Athletic apparel – best company ever (goals, athletic culture, fitness – community)

How many people are on your mailing list, Facebook / Myspace, Twitter.

FB – 500+ (both Vegas and LA friends)

STEP 1:

FIRST - !!!!!Customize your webpage at www.aidsmarathon.com Letter/Photo or Video

Correspondence:

· Email Campaign – 100 emails (first send from website then from personal)

· FB Campaign – BLOW IT UP

· Handwrite at least 10 letters with self-addressed stamped envelopes for non-tech people

STEP 2:

· Poker event in Vegas in AUG

· BBQ party – fill out the bill (other performers); decide on how you’re going to get donations (door cover, donation bucket); figure out booze (sponsor, byob (in exchange for reduced cover charge)); additional donations inside party (raffle lower value items (movie passes, restaurant coupons, running gear) and auction high value/ package items (spa package; fitness package; shoe tickets));

· Yard Sale – friends help with item donations

· Plan all events for late AUG or early SEPT – work correspondence first!


I am super excited about this plan!!!

I am currently at $425.00

If I raise $75 more by the end of July 19th I win an awesome hat!!! Come on peeps I need you!! :)


July 16, 2010

Rainy days


BEEP BEEP BEEP BEEP BEEP.... The buzzing sound of my alarm is going off. It's 7:15am. I hit snooze. I have time. I don't have to meet Sara for a maintenance run until 7:30am. I shut my eyes. My phone rings. Its Davy. (he had been away for work so I answer). Are you up baby?, he asks. I say yeah my alarm just went off. Im meeting Sara at 7:30. Its 7:25 he says.


OH SHIT!! WHY DID I THINK I HAD TIME????


I quickly let him go so I can throw on my running clothes and head out the door. I arrive 5 minutes late. Thank goodness the park is just down the road and thank goodness Sara is so understanding.


It's now 7:35am we start our run in beautiful Balboa park. It was a muggy day with an overcast sky. I love it when its cloudy. Its easier to run in than the sun.


We had nice conversations and a great run!! It was really nice running with her again since it had been awhile since our last run together. We did 3.5 miles in 35 minutes at a 3-1 pace. Sara is quite the runner and I ended up pushing my speed a little but it was good.


Time to go home and get ready for work. I had to work at 10am. I hopped in my car and within a matter of seconds the rain came pouring down!! We just made it!! Whoo hooo for early runs!!! :)


Thanks Sara!! Your awesome!


July 18, 2010

7 Miles


Ok here we go!! I did all my maintenance runs this last week and ready for mile 7!! Oh crap I'm gonna run 7 miles today!!!GULP. The anxiety of uncharted territory set the flight of butterflies in my tummy. Am I really doing this????

YES! I AM RUNNING A FRICKEN MARATHON:)

I had to stop thinking about it and get dressed. I put on my lovely Lu's and head out the door at 6:35am. I stopped at the gas station for a bottle of water and a bottle of Power Aid. Since my last run I was supposed to try out gels to re-energize myself during these long runs. However I did not so I thought Power Aid would be my next best thing.

Today our pace group leader Sage was absent so we led ourselves and even had a new runner added to our group! Today we were an all women power house group!!

It is so much fun getting know everyone and we all push each other along. Sometimes we even sing our favorite marching song... I love running... I love running....Running running... Running running. LOL Guess you would have to hear it. :)

The first 2 miles are always the hardest but at about mile 3 my body starts going on automatic. The power aid really helped too!

It was a hot and sunny day this morning but we got through it. We even ran through people's sprinklers along the way when we could to cool us down and at mile 2 and 4 they had water stations set up for us with water and oranges!

We finished 7 miles in 1 hour 30 minutes at a 3-1 pace!! GO TEAM!


After we finished I led my pace group into a yoga stretch to open up our hips, shoulders and stretch the T-band in our thighs.


Who would of thought?? I LOVE RUNNING!


8 miles... bring it on!! :)






Wednesday, July 14, 2010

All by myself


Rise and Shine!!!

Today I woke up bright and early at 7:30am ready for my maintenance run. (These are the runs I have to do 2-3 times a week without my training group)

I put on my running gear and my baseball cap and head out the door. Today was the first day I have had to run by myself. No big deal I thought! I headed for my street to start my run.

I chose Chandler street to run on today. Its a beautiful street by my house filled with estates and trees. 3-1 is my pace so I stayed with that. Here we go! 3 minutes running... feels good I thought. As I am running down Chandler St. the sun is glaring and beating on my skin. WOW its hot already! I cannot think of this so I focused on my breath. I aligned my breath with the pattern of my footsteps. Breathe in 2-3-4 Breathe out 2-3-4. My mind has gone completely blank.

Stillness. That lasted maybe a whole minute. What time is it now? I keep going....

Then comes the sun again. The heat. My muscles are burning and I'm only 15 minutes in. What is happening?! Is this almost over? I look at my clock. Not even close.

I cant understand why my mind is playing such tricks on me. I have gone so much further that this before and been completely fine. Now all I can think is when is this over. I'm too hot and my muscles burn!

Then I realized... I have been in conversations with my partners/team mates the entire time I have been training! It has distracted me from just being with myself. Just being with my body and its sensations.

WOW! This is a challenge for me. Who would have thought?!

So to conclude today's run I ran a total of 35 minutes and about 2.5 miles (I really need to get a stop watch and a mile tracker)

And... I'm taking on this challenge. I will be running 1-2 of my maintenance runs by myself. I think it will be good for me to learn to just be with me and my body.

Bring it on self! LOL:)

p.s I want to thank Chen, Sara, Kimberly, Jenna, Stephen and Pam for your contribution in sponsoring me for this Marathon. It means so much to me. Thank you!!

Sunday, July 11, 2010

6 Miles...Pure Fun!!




Today was awesome!! I got a beautiful 8 hours of sleep ready to wake up bright and early this morning at 6:15am sharp. I put my new running clothes on (from Lululemon of course) grabbed a quick power bar and headed to the training site in gorgeous Griffith Park.

Today during our warm up we learned about gel packs to eat on long runs and gels for skin to avoid chafing since we our now getting to much longer runs. My homework this week... Taste test gels!! Whoo hooo!

I was super excited for today because 6 miles would be the longest I have ever run! I have done 5 miles before so this was a new adventure and will be from here on out.

We are 4 weeks into training with the program APLA and we have gained more runners!! We had a new runner added to our pace group today. I think one of the funnest parts of the this training program is the community that is created. I love getting to know everyone!

So lets see.... 6 miles... How was it? Well it was awesome!! I felt strong the whole time and so did my group. 2 weeks ago we were at 14 minutes per mile. The last 2 weeks we have been at 13 minutes per mile. Our endurence it building! We did some incline today on our run. It wasn't too bad. ("on your toes and lean slightly forward" is the trick) I actually like up hill better than down. My knees start to feel strained going down. Oh yea!... so the sides of my knees were definitely feeling tight at about 5 miles. It didn't hurt but it wasn't that comfortable either. My Lululemon's were great on the run. NO CHAFING. :)

So as I said me and my group finished our 6 miles strong at 1 hour 18 minutes at a 3-1 pace (in case your late to this blog, 3 minutes running, 1 minute walking)

After we all finished they showed us some great stretches for the IT band. (that's the band that connect your hip to your knee) it gets really tight from running which starts pull on the sides of the knees. Hence my uncomfortableness at mile 5 :)

Well...no deep thoughts today just pure fun!

I looooove running!!

Thursday, July 8, 2010

Who Knew running could be so philosophical?


Ok... so I have to be honest I have slacked on my maintenance runs this last week. UGH. But no worries I'm back and picking up the slack.

Today I ran 5 miles with my friend and fellow Lu, Sabrina.It was a beautiful/gloomy day (perfect for running). We went to Balboa golf course and ran around it. 5 miles in 53 minutes!! WOO HOOO! We started it at a 3-1. (3 minutes running- 1 minute walking) Since I don't have a timer or stop watch yet I soon lost track on my phone but we felt it out. I felt good and strong today although my right foot feels like if it would crack it will feel better. But I'm scared to try that. It doesn't hurt to run I just cant stretch it too much.

Today we got into some really great conversations along the way. At one point I was sharing that my training program says during the marathon each runner should run 2 minutes per mile slower than what they can and that when finishing the Marathon you should feel like to could have gone faster. I realized when sharing with her about this method what a challenge it is for my ego. "to pace myself" so to speak. The little voice in my head always drives me to do more and push harder! But what I realized is this voice/ego doesn't serve me. Ultimately what happens is I push and push and push until I tire out so much that I give up entirely. To be brutally honest with myself and you this is what I have done with every big project I have taken on. The projects are always the easy part! The patience and the balance within myself are the challenge. Thank goodness I will NOT be able to do this marathon that way. As it will be life changing! But as we all know change can be a real challenge and pacing myself and being ok with myself for doing so will be mine.


So in a nutshell I'm having a blast on this journey and learning a lot about running, other people, myself and life!

Who knew running could be so philosophical. LOL:)

P.S My new shoes are awesome!!

Friday, July 2, 2010

Running Shoes



So as many of you know when taking on running you must have a good pair of running shoes! So after starting my day with a crossfit class on Thursday I headed over to a running store by my house called Runnergy.

I've never been fitted for shoes like this before! First the young man helping me sized my foot with my shoes off, then he put me on a tread mill with a camera filming my feet as I walked. Then he had me do a slight jog. All this to see how I land as I'm running and walking. From there he knew what kind of running shoes I would need. So Cool!

I apparently run the correct way, on the ball of my foot. Whoo hoo! (I guess) I tried on multiple pairs of shoes. Some that held my ankles snug, some that held my arches, some that put my on the ball of my foot to support me in the way I run and my favorite were the toes shoes. They are made in tribute an Ethiopian olympic runner named Abebe Bikila that ran his Olympic Marathon in his bare feet (and won)! WOW! They were cool but Im not that brave to do 26.2 miles in them.

I got a pair that I could wear to work as well as run in. The total cost... $105 dollars. and their PINK!!


But seriously they are really great! Im happy with my purchase and so are my feet!!