Sunday, June 20, 2010

Official Day 1!!




So today was my official day 1 of marathon training!!

I woke up a precisely 5:27am (about 30 min sooner than my alarm was actually set) and although I was so tired I felt a bit nauseous I was super thrilled to meet my coaches and my training group! I put on my lululemon attire, chugged down a glass of chocolate soy milk and head out the door!

It was a brisk morning with clear skies and zero traffic! It was a quick and beautiful drive to Griffith Park. I pulled up to the training site a bit early at 6:38am where I met my running coach, fund raising coach and many assistants all set up with their clipboards, water and big yellow time signs. From there we all filled out shoe tags (with our emergency contact and such) and clipped it on to our shoes. We started right on time at 7:00am. After a quick introduction our first assignment was to meet 2 people you dont know and find out why they are running the AIDS Marathon. So much fun! What a great group of people!I instantly clicked with a new runner like myself! Her name is Reena. We're gonna become good friends, I can tell.

After the group got to know each other a little bit we split up into smaller "time" groups. What this means is we estimated about how long it takes us to run a mile. Ranging from 9 min to 20 min. I catagarized myself in the 14 min group. Then... off we went! Reena and I buddied up along our 3 mile run around the park. So much fun!!

When we got back we were clocked in at 37 min. From there they put us in our proper time groups. Just so happens Reena and I were right! 14 min per mile!!

Now we have our time group and a team captain! Sage is his name he is also a participant. He's done this before tho.

So our run was over. From there we got our AIDS Marathon T-shirts and a training guide book. My assignment this week... new shoes, water bottle/belt and a time watch!!

I can't wait till next week!

Until then, anyone want to go running with me this week?

No comments:

Post a Comment