Monday, June 28, 2010

Getting to know each other


Sunday June 27th was my 2nd long run with the training group.

Again bright and early at 6:15am my alarm sounded and I hit the snooze. Ugh! I was to tired. I had stayed up entirely too late watching Buffy the Vampire Slayer. WHY AM I SO ADDICTED?!

Anyway I stumbled out of bed to take my morning pee and ouch!! My right ankle was hurting. I could feel the bones as I took each step. This isnt good I thought. I definitely have to get new shoes! I had also taken a crossfit class on fri so it seemed every muscle in my body was stiff and sore. I can not make it to my marathon training today I thought. I picked up the phone and called my new training buddy from my pace group and left a message saying I will not be there and to let me know what happened. I laid back down to shut my eyes and this overwhelming feeling of guilt came over me. I was not keeping my word to myself. About 10 minutes later I popped out of bed threw on my running gear, scarfed down 2 bananas and jumped into my car! I called Reena again. I left another message. "I'm on my way see you all soon".

I arrived just in time for our pre-run meeting and warm up. I learned the proper way to run is on your toes and mid foot while leaning slightly forward. No heels are involved while running. Did you know that?! Next they gave us the map of our 4 mile run!

We got into our pace groups. Sage is the leader of our group. He delegated that we pace ourselves at 3-1 for this 4 mile run. That means we run for 3 minutes then walk for 1 minute for the whole 4 miles. The trick with these long runs is to truly pace yourself. If you cant have a conversation the whole time you are pushing too hard and your body will tire quickly. So that's what we maintained. Lots of conversations. I really got to know my pace group a whole lot better today.

3 of my group members have done this before so they have lots of great tips and 3 of us are newbies. One of the other girls is a singer as well. She has a band here. Another women is a bit older but man does she have some spunk and she's quite the power walker! We had to follow in her lead although we found shes not scared of cars while running. We have to keep her close. LOL. Oh and guess who didn't show?! yup my friend Reena. (i found out later she wasnt getting enough rest and needed to sleep in)

It was a hard run for me since the oh so lovely cramps were kicking in all morning but I got through it. We finished 4 miles at a 3-1 pace in 48 minutes!!

My favorite part of this day was getting to know my awesome group!! Thanks group!!

And friends and fam.... Please don't forget to donate to sponsor me!!! :)

Friday, June 25, 2010

I Love Running!







So this blog is a little late considering I am writing about Tues. June 22nd and its Fri June 25th.

(HAPPY BIRTHDAY BABY!! I LOVE YOU)

So Tues :) ... I woke up bright and early ready to run. I called up my new run partner Reena to see if she would like to go running with me. She was in but 11 am was the earliest she could do it. So I agreed. (never again. too hot) LOL

We met up at the Sherman Oaks/Van Nuys Park to run/walk the trail there.
I did a quick 800 meter power walk to warm up before she got there. Then repeated once she arrived. Once we were warmed up we took off for the trail that circles the entire park.

We had some really great conversations and paced ourselves, alternating between running and power walking.

We also met a scottish terrier puppy who seemed to be thrilled to meet us!! So cute.

We finished our run walk at 12:45pm. I calculated 5miles. She calculated 4.5 miles.

WHOOO HOOO! :)

I am really having so much fun on this journey!

Although I think I am losing the bubble in my butt! Yes 'a bad thing!LOL :)

I don't want a flat bottom. I see more squats in my future. Hehehe :)

Oh yea!.... I am at $150 in fund-raising. Come on friends and fam I need your help. Will you please make a donation and sponsor me in this amazing race for this amazing cause?!

Click on the link below and it will take you directly to my fund-raising page. Then just click on Make a Gift (under the thermometer) to make a donation of your choice!

http://apla.convio.net/site/TR/Events/NationalAIDSMarathonTrainingProgram-MARATHONONLY?px=1502753&pg=personal&fr_id=1080

Thanks a bunch!! And please keep following. I can really use cheerleaders through this :)

Love,
Ang

Sunday, June 20, 2010

Official Day 1!!




So today was my official day 1 of marathon training!!

I woke up a precisely 5:27am (about 30 min sooner than my alarm was actually set) and although I was so tired I felt a bit nauseous I was super thrilled to meet my coaches and my training group! I put on my lululemon attire, chugged down a glass of chocolate soy milk and head out the door!

It was a brisk morning with clear skies and zero traffic! It was a quick and beautiful drive to Griffith Park. I pulled up to the training site a bit early at 6:38am where I met my running coach, fund raising coach and many assistants all set up with their clipboards, water and big yellow time signs. From there we all filled out shoe tags (with our emergency contact and such) and clipped it on to our shoes. We started right on time at 7:00am. After a quick introduction our first assignment was to meet 2 people you dont know and find out why they are running the AIDS Marathon. So much fun! What a great group of people!I instantly clicked with a new runner like myself! Her name is Reena. We're gonna become good friends, I can tell.

After the group got to know each other a little bit we split up into smaller "time" groups. What this means is we estimated about how long it takes us to run a mile. Ranging from 9 min to 20 min. I catagarized myself in the 14 min group. Then... off we went! Reena and I buddied up along our 3 mile run around the park. So much fun!!

When we got back we were clocked in at 37 min. From there they put us in our proper time groups. Just so happens Reena and I were right! 14 min per mile!!

Now we have our time group and a team captain! Sage is his name he is also a participant. He's done this before tho.

So our run was over. From there we got our AIDS Marathon T-shirts and a training guide book. My assignment this week... new shoes, water bottle/belt and a time watch!!

I can't wait till next week!

Until then, anyone want to go running with me this week?

Friday, June 11, 2010

I WILL RUN FOR YOUR MONEY



ok so its been like two weeks since I posted. Yes I am still running this Marathon. Trust me I am committed. Even if I haven't gotten a single sponsor.

Come on peeps I need you!! This marathon needs you! I will run for your money! Bet you never heard that one before. lol But seriously... Its for such a great cause. I know you would run too if you had the time or patience or whatever so instead all I'm asking for is a contribution to a great cause and I will do the running for you!! What do ya say? :) Will you please make a donation under my name?

http://apla.convio.net/site/TR/Events/NationalAIDSMarathonTrainingProgram-MARATHONONLY?px=1502753&pg=personal&fr_id=1080

My official training starts in a week! I am so excited! This is going to be such an amazing journey! But I can't do it alone.

Lots of Love,
Angela